Magnet Schools of America’s Merit Awards recognize magnet schools/programs which are members of Magnet Schools of America, that demonstrate a high commitment to academic standards, curriculum, innovation, desegregation/diversity efforts, specialized teaching staffs and parent and community involvement.



The 2013-2014 Merit Award categories are:
  • (1a) School of Excellence – Whole School Magnet;
  • (1b) School of Excellence – Program Within-a-School;
  • (2a) School of Distinction – Whole School Magnet; and
  • (2b) School of Distinction – Program Within-a-School.


The Magnet School of Excellence is the top merit award category and is only awarded to a select group of magnet schools. The Magnet School of Distinction is the second highest award of recognition. To receive a merit award member schools must submit an application that is scored by a panel of educators. Cash awards are provided to the top Magnet Schools of Excellence.


Smart Choice™ Technologies congratulates the districts that we work with who were awarded this high honor.

Baltimore Public Schools

Durham Public Schools

East Baton Rouge Parish Public Schools

Hartford Public Schools

MSD Lawrence Township

New Haven Public Schools

View All Merit Award Winners